ABFAS Welcomes Scott Nelson, DPM, FACFAS, to Board of Directors

February 15, 2024

Scott Nelson, DPM, FACFAS
On February 2, the ABFAS Board of Directors appointed Scott C. Nelson, DPM, FACFAS, to fill the vacancy left by the departure of ABFAS Director Katie M. Swanstrom, DPM, FACFAS. 

Dr. Swanstrom served her first term on the Board from 2020 to 2023 and was reelected by ABFAS membership to serve a second term in April of last year. She made the difficult decision to resign from the Board after a motor vehicle accident forced her to take medical leave from performing surgery. 

“ABFAS has weathered many storms since I began my first term in 2020, and I am proud of the work we have done to improve the processes of all exams for current and future ABFAS members,” says Dr. Swanstrom. “I extend a heartfelt thank you to my colleagues across the nation for trusting me to serve on the ABFAS Board of Directors. It has been an honor and a privilege.” 

“Katie has made extraordinary contributions to both the organization and the profession, and her insight, dedication, and presence on the Board will be missed,” remarks ABFAS President Nicole A. Bauerly, DPM, FACFAS. “Her ABFAS family is here to support her during her recovery, and we look forward to her return to surgery and leadership roles within ABFAS.”

The Board is pleased to welcome Scott Nelson, DPM, FACFAS, to fill the open director position. A past president of the American College of Foot and Ankle Surgeons and the Nebraska Podiatric Medical Association, Dr. Nelson brings decades of leadership experience to the role. “Scott is a passionate advocate for the profession and a welcome addition to the board,” says Dr. Bauerly. 

In accordance with ABFAS Bylaws, Dr. Nelson will hold office until 2026—the remaining duration of the unexpired term of the vacant position.