The strength of ABFAS’ credentialing process lies in the volunteers who staff our committees.  Because of the contributions of our volunteers’ expertise, skills, and time, ABFAS is able to produce 15 examinations each year and keep members informed about our activities.

If you are interested in serving on an ABFAS committee, ABFAS actively recruits new committee members every three years through its “Call for Volunteers”. ABFAS will reach out to all ABFAS certified podiatrists and inform them of the opening dates and requirements.


Communications Committee

Purpose: Provide strategic guidance for ABFAS marketing and communication efforts.

John N. Evans, DPM, Chair, MI
Michelle L. Butterworth, DPM, SC*
Randall L. Dei, DPM, WI
Tyson Green, DPM, LA
Michael J. King, DPM, GA
Amber M. Shane, DPM, FL


Exam Oversight Committee

Purpose: Oversees the direction of ABFAS exams. Acts as an advisory group to the Board Psychometrician and a sounding board to the Board of Directors.

Amberly C. Paradoa, DPM, Examinations Chair, FL*
Mindy L.B. Benton, DPM, New Pathways Chair, MN
Keith L. Jacobson, DPM, Immediate Past-president President, CO*
Jeffery L. Giesking, DPM, CBPS Chair, WI*
William R. Adams, DPM, President, KY*
Danny J. Choung, DPM, Past-president, CA*
Charles M. Lombardi, DPM, Past-president, , NY
Christopher D. Lotufo, DPM, Continuous Certification Chair, WA
Alan Ng, DPM, Past-president, CO
Richard S. Schachter, DPM, CEC Chair, NJ
Steven M. Spinner, DPM, Past-president, FL


Examinations Committee

Purpose: Develop examinations, scoring criteria, and pass/fail standards for ABFAS examinations. 

Amberly C. Paradoa, DPM, Examinations Chair, FL*

The Examinations Committee has the following subcommittees:

CBPS Review Committee

Purpose: An independent committee that reviews CBPS cases prior and post field testing.

Dustin Kruse, DPM, CO
Christopher J. Lamy, DPM, WA
Timothy J. Mineo, DPM, OR
Aksone Nouvong, DPM, CA
Amberly C. Paradoa, DPM, FL*
Jesse P. Parks, DPM, CT

Continuous Certification (Recertification) Task Force

Purpose: Develop a new approach to the ABFAS recertification process.

Christopher D. Lotufo, DPM, Chair, WA
Jamie Bakal, DPM, CA
Danny J. Choung, DPM, CA*
Mindi Dayton, DPM, IA
Keith L. Jacobson, DPM, CO*
Alan Ng, DPM, CO
Joseph R. Treadwell, DPM, CT

Cognitive Examinations Committee

Purpose: Create written questions for the item banks for all ABFAS written (didactic) examinations. The committee writes and reviews new items, and regularly reviews the existing item banks for currency and quality for all of the multiple-choice items. 

Richard S. Schachter, DPM, Chair, NJ
Joseph Alencherry, DPM, NY 
Albert E. Burns, DPM, CA
Thanh L. Dinh, DPM, MA
Michael Gentile, DPM, CO
Alberto Herrada, DPM, FL
Christopher J. Lamy, DPM, WA
Charles M. Lombardi, DPM, NY
John J. McGarry, DPM, CO
Roland S. Ramdass, DPM, VA
Ronald Ray, DPM, MT
Diana E. Rogers, DPM, FL
Harry P. Schneider, DPM, MA
Stephen H. Silvani, DPM, CA
Chad F. Simmons, DPM, CO
Vito Speciale, DPM, SC
Steven M. Spinner, DPM, FL
Alyssa Stephenson, DPM, WI
Matthew B. Werd, DPM, FL

Computer-Based Patient Simulation (CBPS) Committee

Purpose: Create CBPS content for the in-training, Part I and Part II certification exams in Foot and RRA. 

Jeffery L. Giesking, DPM, Chair, WI*
William R. Adams, DPM, KY*
Nicole A. Bauerly, DPM, MN*
Michael D. Dujela, DPM, WA
Eric  D. Evans, DPM, OR
Brett D. Sachs, DPM, CO
Katie Swanstrom, DPM, WA
Michael D. VanPelt, DPM, TX*
Gregory E. Webb, DPM, WA 
Matthew E. Williams, DPM, WA

Miscategorization and Enemy Check Work Group

Purpose: Ensures that the exam items are categorized correctly and in accordance with the exam contents requirements, and that all items and keys have enemy checks.

Stephen H. Silvani, DPM, Chair, CA
Revonda L. Jessup, DPM, NC
Jane Pontious, DPM, NJ
Kathleen M. Pyatak-Hugar, DPM, NY
Joshua D. Rhodenizer, DPM, MI

New Pathways Committee

Purpose: Ensure that the case review system templates are relevant; review results of case reviewers’ evaluations of the process; and continuously make improvements to the case review process. 

Mindy L. B. Benton, DPM, Chair, MN
Gina AmicaTerra, DPM, NY
Charles T. Arena, DPM, CT
John T. Marcoux, DPM, MA*
Roya Mirmiran, DPM, CA
Martin Pressman, DPM, CT
Cassandra Tomczak, DPM, OR



Nominating Committee

Purpose: Propose to the membership the names of candidates for elections.

Keith L. Jacobson, DPM, Chair/Immediate Past-president, CO*
Christopher D. Lotufo, DPM, WA
Aksone Nouvong, DPM, CA


Exam Blueprint Task Force

Purpose: Update the examination blueprints based on the results of the Job Task Analysis. 

Roya Mirmiran, DPM, Chair, CA
Gina AmicaTerra, DPM, NY
Michelle Butterworth, DPM, SC*
Keith Cook, DPM, NJ
Sean Grambart, DPM, IL
Martin Pressman, DPM, CT
Roland Ramdass, DPM, VA
Christopher Reeves, DPM, FL
Laurence Rubin, DPM, VA
Randal Wraalstad, DPM


Exam Prep Task Force

Purpose: Focuses on the development of a new approach to providing board preparation materials to ABFAS in-training, qualifying, certifying, and recertifying candidates.

Aksone Nouvong, DPM, CA
Michelle Butterworth, DPM, SC*
Adina-Maria Anderson, DPM, MI
Said Atway, DPM, OH
Monara Dini, DPM, CA 
Shine John, DPM, TX
Andrew Meyr, DPM, PA
Ellianne Nasser, DPM, PA
Aksone Nouvong, DPM, CA


Job Task Analysis Task Force

Purpose:  Conduct a Job Task Analysis (JTA) documenting the day-to-day tasks of a Board Certified Foot and Ankle Surgeon.

Joseph Anain, DPM, NY
Mark Beylin, DPM, FL
Jeffrey Fleischli, DPM, IL
Lisa Levick-Doane, DPM, IL
Ryan Murphy, DPM, MI
Roya Mirmiran, DPM, CA
Laurence Rubin, DPM, VA
Camille Ryans, DPM, NC
Robert Stillwell, DPM, CA
Jacob Wynes, DPM, MD

Appointed Representatives

Collaborative Residency Evaluator Committee:  
Randall Dei, DPM
Katherine Kreiter, Executive Director
Charles Lombardi, DPM

Council on Podiatric Medical Education: 
Charles Lombardi, DPM

Council on Teaching Hospitals:
Roland Ramdass, DPM

Joint Committee on Recognition of Specialty Boards:
Mindy L.B. Benton, DPM

Podiatry Residency Resource:
Randall Dei, DPM
Ellianne Nasser, DPM, PA
Michael Vaardahl, DPM

Residency Review Committee: 
Aksone Nouvong, DPM
Larry Menacker, DPM


* indicates ABFAS Board Member