ABFAS Recognizes Outstanding Students with Stone Awards

2024 Stone Award Winners with ABFAS Board of Directors
From left to right: ABFAS Director Katie Swanstrom, DPM, D.ABFAS; Alex Martinez; ABFAS Director Timothy Mineo, DPM, D.ABFAS; ABFAS Director Vito Speciale, DPM, D.ABFAS; ABFAS President-elect Michelle Butterworth, DPM, D.ABFAS; Davis Hendricks; Chanelle Mariano; ABFAS President Nicole Bauerly, DPM, D.ABFAS; Claire Herrera; ABFAS Immediate Past President Jeffery Giesking, DPM, D.ABFAS; Ksenja Llazar; Sheena Cherukara; Storm Berman; ABFAS Director Diana Rogers, DPM, D.ABFAS; Hannah Windauer; ABFAS Secretary/Treasurer Roland Ramdass, DPM, D.ABFAS; ABFAS Director Dustin Kruse, DPM, D.ABFAS; and ABFAS Director Michael Dujela, DPM, D.ABFAS

February 2, 2024

Yesterday, ABFAS President Nicole A. Bauerly, DPM, D.ABFAS, FACFAS, presented the Michael L. Stone, DPM, Outstanding Professional Conduct Awards to nine exceptional individuals. The awards ceremony took place in Tampa, Florida, as part of the ABFAS 50th Annual Business Meeting.

The award goes to a graduating senior from each college or school who exemplifies the highest standards of professionalism, deportment, and ethics in their interactions with peers, patients, professors, and staff. Each college or school selects their winner. The recipients receive a plaque commemorating the achievement and a $2,000 cash award.

Please join ABFAS in congratulating the 2024 Michael L. Stone, DPM, Outstanding Professional Conduct Award winners:

  • Hannah Windauer | Arizona College of Podiatric Medicine at Midwestern University
  • Sheena Cherukara | Barry University School of Podiatric Medicine
  • Alex Martinez | Des Moines University College of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery
  • Davis Hendricks | Dr. William M. Scholl College of Podiatric Medicine at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine & Science
  • Storm Berman | Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine
  • Ksenja Llazar | New York College of Podiatric Medicine
  • Claire Herrera | Samuel Merritt University College of Podiatric Medicine
  • Sharon Dei-Tumi | Temple University School of Podiatric Medicine
  • Chanelle Mariano | Western University of Health Sciences College of Podiatric Medicine
The award is named for Michael L. Stone, DPM. Dr. Stone generously gave his time serving ABFAS on committees, as an officer, as president, and as the longest serving member of the Board of Directors. Dr. Stone was deeply committed to elevating the standards and quality of residency training and was the embodiment of outstanding professional conduct, respect, and ethics. 

The Outstanding Professional Conduct Award dates back to 2003, and upon Dr. Stone's passing in 2004, the organization named the award for him as a testimony to his dedication for the continuing elevation of the educational standards of the podiatric profession.