ABFAS Announces 2023 Surgeons of Tomorrow Contest Winners

Paul Adeyemi and Olivia Mackey

KSUCPM's Paul Adeyemi wins written essay contest, while UTRGV-SPM's Olivia Mackey wins video contest.

November 21, 2023

SAN FRANCISCO — Today, the American Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery (ABFAS) announced Paul Adeyemi from Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine and Olivia Mackey from the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Podiatric Medicine as the winners of the 2023 ABFAS Surgeons of Tomorrow Student Conference Scholarship Contest. Adeyemi, a third-year podiatric medical student, won in the written essay category, and Mackey, a second-year podiatric medical student, won in the video category.

More than 40 podiatric medical students from across the nation submitted videos and essay entries, articulating why ABFAS Board Certification is important to them as aspiring podiatric surgeons and how they will use it to benefit their patients. The winners were selected by members of the ABFAS Communications Committee.

Each winner will receive a scholarship to cover travel costs and registration to attend the ACFAS 82nd Annual Scientific Conference in Tampa, Florida, February 1–4, 2024—where they will join more than 2,000 of the nation’s top foot and ankle surgeons in sessions discussing the latest advances in the profession.

The winners will also be recognized at the ABFAS Annual Meeting and will attend a meet-and-greet with the ABFAS Board of Directors and Communications Committee.