ABFAS Recognizes Exceptional Podiatric Medical Students

2023 Stone Award winners with members of the ABFAS Board of Directors

From left to right: ABFAS Director Katie M. Swanstrom, DPM, D.ABFAS; Kyra Illuzzi; Gregory Rose; Emily Zink; Jordan Franklin; Immediate Past President Amberly C. Paradoa, DPM, D.ABFAS; Stephanie Aroworade; Emily Cziraky; ABFAS President Jeffery L. Giesking, DPM, D.ABFAS; ABFAS Secretary/Treasurer Michelle L. Butterworth, DPM, D.ABFAS; ABFAS President-elect Nicole A. Bauerly, DPM, D.ABFAS; Miriam Jones; ABFAS Director Dustin L. Kruse, DPM, D.ABFAS; ABFAS Director Michael D. Dujela, DPM, D.ABFAS; ABFAS Director John T. Marcoux, DPM, D.ABFAS; ABFAS Director Diana E. Rogers, DPM, D.ABFAS; Shadi Mattar; ABFAS Director Roland S. Ramdass, DPM, D.ABFAS; and Katherine Gutierrez


On February 9, ABFAS President Jeffery L. Giesking, DPM, D.ABFAS, presented the 2023 Michael L. Stone, DPM, Outstanding Professional Conduct Awards to nine exceptional individuals representing the highest standard of professionalism, deportment, and ethics in their interactions with peers, professors, and staff.  

The awards ceremony took place in Los Angeles, as part of the ABFAS 49th Annual Business Meeting. Recipients received a plaque commemorating their achievement and a cash award of $2,000 to be used at the student’s discretion.   

Please join us in congratulating the 2023 Michael L. Stone, DPM, Outstanding Professional Conduct Award winners: 

  • Shadi Mattar | Arizona College of Podiatric Medicine at Midwestern University 
  • Stephanie Aroworade | Barry University School of Podiatric Medicine 
  • Jordan Franklin | California School of Podiatric Medicine at Samuel Merritt University 
  • Emily Zink | Des Moines University College of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery 
  • Miriam Jones | Dr. William M. Scholl College of Podiatric Medicine at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science 
  • Kyra Illuzzi | Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine 
  • Gregory Rose | New York College of Podiatric Medicine 
  • Emily Cziraky | Temple University School of Podiatric Medicine 
  • Katherine Gutierrez | Western University of Health Sciences College of Podiatric Medicine 
The award is named for Michael L. Stone, DPM. Dr. Stone gave generously of his time and energy as a member of committees, as an officer, as president, and as the longest serving member of the ABFAS Board of Directors. Dr. Stone was deeply committed to elevating the standards and quality of residency training, and was the embodiment of outstanding professional conduct, respect, and ethics.  

The Outstanding Professional Conduct Award dates to 2003, and upon Dr. Stone's passing in 2004, the organization named the award for him as a testimony to his dedication for the continuing elevation of the educational standards of the podiatric profession.